Eneco News

In the first stage of the Eneco Tour André Greipel has outsprinted the entire bunch. The rider from team Omega Pharma - Lotto eclipsed Galimzyanov and Farrar. Taylor Phinney remains the leader overall.

Greipel (left) about to eclipse Galimzyanov. (picture cor vos)
Six riders broke away early on: Thomas De Gendt, Stijn Neirynck, Jens Debusschere, Feng Han, Julien Fouchard and Matteo Trentin. After 50 kilometers, the breakaway had a lead of over 10 minutes. Quite the sign for the sprinters' teams to start chasing the group. The speed in the pack increased considerably and after 90 kilometers into the stage the group lead by 6 minutes.

At this speed, a bunch sprint in Sint Willebrord seemed inevitable. Fouchard was the last one to be reeled in with only 10 kilometers left. The rolling train subsequently suffered some crashes in the curbs of Dutch roads. Sebastien Minard, Arnaud Labbe and Perez Sanchez Francisco abandoned the race.
Source: Enecotour.com

No hay comentarios: